Skip to content

GOTR SoleMates Spotlight: Erica Guevara

October 13, 2009

Beginning today, we will be regularly featuring a 2009-2010 GOTR Atlanta SoleMate here on our blog. SoleMates are women or men who pursue individual goals, such as training for a 5K or half-marathon, to raise money for Girls on the Run of Atlanta.

GOTR Atlanta SoleMate Erica Guevara

GOTR Atlanta SoleMate Erica Guevara

Name: Erica Guevara

Profession: Architect in Training

Is this your first year as a GOTR SoleMate? Yes

What made you decide to join GOTR SoleMates?
I just got started with running this year for myself. I was sick of how tired I was all the time, and how I felt unmotivated. Running gave me a goal, and more self-motivation. There is nothing better than when YOU achieve that next step when you thought you did not have it in you. This path began as something for myself, and gave me back so much more. I got started in GOTR because I would like to give back to the local girls in the community with the same motivation that I got out of it. I would like to instill in them that they can count on themselves for anything, running or in life, and making that next step is all that it takes.

What is your target race?
I have not completely decided yet but it is the ING 2010 or the DISNEY PRINCESS 2010.

What do you like to do when not being active for GOTR SoleMates?
I am a big movie buff – going to the IMAX is awesome. There is just something about the popcorn, drink, and a great story, that just takes me away. I love hanging out with my dog, and my husband. The nightly walks are amazing. I like cooking (originally wanted to be a professional pastry chef).

Where is your favorite place to run?
The Silver Comet currently, something about being under the trees and on a trail that seems like it is never ending I like. Even on a hot day it is not so bad.

What advice would you give to a new runner or athlete?
Do not give up when things are getting tough, it is parallel for all live events. I know it is heard all the time but it is true, believe that you can do it and you will. Remember to take that next step.

What is your favorite motto or saying?
Every day when I went to school as a kid my dad would say “Study hard and play good with the kids.”

What has been your best GOTR SoleMates experience?
When I got out there for my first race, I thought I would have to do it by myself (Atlanta 13.1). The GOTR group was with me and it went great! I had the support, so I was not nervous at all.

What would you say to anyone thinking of joining GOTR SoleMates?
This is an organization that is unique from others because not only are you helping change the life and motivation of a child, but you are helping yourself in the process. Everyone wins!

What is your next race? The Silver Comet Half Marathon on Halloween weekend.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Stephanie Golias permalink
    October 13, 2009 10:59 pm

    Way to go Erica. You are an inspiration and great motivator.

Leave a Reply

