Skip to content

A GOTR Girl on the Move

November 1, 2009

First off everyone, my apologies for the lack of posts over the past few days. Some of our readers may know this, but GOTR Atlanta’s primary blogger (i.e. me, Nadine) is headed off to South Africa for 2 months, starting today. I work for the CDC and will be providing short-term assistance to CDC’s Global AIDS Program in South Africa.

Most of you are probably thinking how lucky I am to have this amazing opportunity. And of course I think that too, but my emotions are incredibly mixed right now. I have a huge passion for Africa, and have even spent several months in South Africa. And it’s not like 2 months is a very long time. However, I can’t help but be terrified. Of what, you ask? The work? Not at all. Potential danger? No way, I’m well prepared. What I’m scared of is being lonely. I actually got engaged to the most wonderful man in the world just last weekend. And while that somehow makes it easier, knowing I have a wonderful life to return to, it also increases that bittersweet feeling about leaving.

But, if I have learned anything from Girls on the Run, it has been that I can do anything that I set my mind to. And that when the going gets tough, the tough go RUNNING. I’ve packed not only running shoes, plenty of socks and running clothes, but I also managed to even squeeze in my tennis racket and shoes! I plan to fill my free time with outdoor activities that will keep me healthy and energized. After all, I am going to one of the most beautiful countries in the world, it would be a tragedy not to get outside and see it.

I will of course still be blogging for GOTR Atlanta. I may need readers’ help in keeping me connected to what’s going on in Atlanta. But I’ll be sure to write a bit about my experiences in South Africa too. Bear with me over the next week while I get over there, over the jet lag, and settled in. Keep checking the blog, I imagine I’ll be back online and writing within a few days.

And off I go into the great unknown…

2 Comments leave one →
  1. November 4, 2009 12:49 pm

    Wow Nadine. Love this post. I know exactly how you feel about being excited for a great opportunity but how bittersweet it can be to leave the place and those you love to go into the great unknown. But I love that you say “That when the going gets tough, the tough go RUNNING.” You’ll have a great trip and time will fly. Can’t wait to hear about it!

    • November 5, 2009 4:01 pm

      Thank you Jacklyn!! I really appreciate you commenting.

Leave a Reply

