Skip to content

GOTR SoleMate Spotlight: Joycelyn Bolden

November 11, 2009

This is the fourth in our series of SoleMates spotlights. GOTR Atlanta SoleMates are a group of men and women who are raising money for GOTR Atlanta while training for a race of their choice.

Joycelyn BoldenName:  Joycelyn Bolden
 
Is this your first year as a GOTR SoleMate? Yes
 
What made you decide to join GOTR SoleMates?  I decided to join SoleMates because I enjoy running and I wanted to have a creative way of supporting a charity by doing something I love.
 
What is your target race? ZOOMA Atlanta Half Marathon
 
What do you like to do when not being active for GOTR SoleMates?  In my spare time I volunteer for nonprofit organizations that mentor adolescent girls.  Additionally, I like playing tennis and spending quality time with family and friends.
 
Where is your favorite place to run?  My favorite place to run is on the Suwanee Greenway with my husband.
 
What advice would you give to a new runner or athlete?  Well, I am a new runner.  I started running in May of 2008, so I am still improving.  My advice for a new runner would be to take it slow, at your own pace,  and grow into running so that it can become a life-long sport as injury-free as possible.
 
What is your favorite motto or saying?  “Like the turtle, it is not how fast you go, but allow yourself to be stretched to the next level.  Keep moving forward!”
 
What has been your best GOTR SoleMates experience?  I like the encouragement from the team and I am looking forward to my first group run.  
 
What would you say to anyone thinking of joining GOTR SoleMates?  Run because it is your passion.

What is your next race?  Jingle Jog 5k in Atlanta
 
Future goals? To do a Full Marathon!

7 Comments leave one →
  1. anna melkerson permalink
    November 17, 2009 3:36 pm

    GO JoJo!! What an awesome thing for you to participate in! Come and do 1/2 on Thanksgiving with me!! You are accomplishing great things and I’m glad you have found something you enjoy so much!

Trackbacks

  1. GOTR Atlanta Introduces Guest Columnist JoJo! « Why We Run
  2. JoJo’s Column: A Commitment to Personal Fitness Goals « Why We Run
  3. JoJo’s Column: Finish Strong « Why We Run
  4. JoJo’s Column: Week 3 Training for the ING Half « Why We Run
  5. JoJo’s Column: Notes on the Garmin « Why We Run
  6. JoJo’s Column: The ING! « Why We Run

Leave a Reply

