Skip to content

Inman Middle’s Girls on Track Team Reflects on the GOTR 5K

November 25, 2009

Inman Middle's Girls on Track Team. Girls: Jadah, Sloan, Lillian, Katherine, Sarah Grace (all 6th graders, age 11). Coaches: Julie and Jessica

Sue Payne, executive director of Girls on the Run of Atlanta, interviewed the Inman Middle School Girls on Track (GOTR for 6th-8th graders) team after the New Balance GOTR 5K on Nov. 15. See below for their insightful thoughts!

In one word, describe how you feel after completing the 5K.

  • Powerful!
  • Proud!
  • Healthy!
  • Energized!
  • Tired…;-)

 What was your favorite part of race day? 

  • Meeting Molly.
  • Seeing the finish line with everyone cheering for ME.
  • I loved running with such a crowd.
  • Having my Mom at the finish line cheering.

 What is one thing you learned about yourself from participating in GOTR/GOTrack?

  • I can do anything I put my mind to.
  • I can be myself.
  • I like to sprint short distances versus run long distances.
  • That I can be good at sports!! (girl with asthma, this is huge)
  • Running can move me from feeling tired to energized and change my perspective on how the day is going.

 In one word, describe your overall experience in GOTR/GOT.

  • Inspiring
  • FUN
  • Memorable
  • Healthy
  • Friends

 What is your favorite part of GOTR/GOT?

  • Knowing that I can overcome something by setting my mind to it.  I was having trouble running during the practice a few weeks before the race.  I kept cramping up and was anxious that I would not be able to keep up with my teammates on race day.  I finally had one day where I talked myself through feeling yucky and finished faster than ever.  It was a big turning point for me because I could tell myself I did it before so can do it again.
  • Running with friends and running in the halls of our school on rainy days (lots this fall).
  • The whole experience!
One Comment leave one →
  1. November 25, 2009 11:24 am

    so great! I live half a mile from this school and am proud of these running studs! My daughter and I run past Inman all the time (she’s 15-months old so she’s in the jogger!) but i hope she’ll one day join the ranks of the GOTR Inman Middle members.

Leave a Reply

