Skip to content

Active’s Winter Running Tips

December 1, 2009

Check out Active’s article on running in winter. I especially took to heart the following tips from the article:

1. Setting a Goal. Frankly, in my opinion, if you don’t have a goal, unless you are one of the few purely internally motivated people out there, you simply won’t get in a long run in the freezing cold.

2. Run with a Buddy or Group. My reasoning is similar to #1 – it’s hard to internally motivate yourself to brave the cold, ice, and wind. Having a buddy or group increases your accountability, and makes the time go by much faster.

3. Dress for 15-20 degrees warmer. I learned this lesson the hard way. Last January for my very first Saturday morning run with West Stride, I showed up wearing a ski coat. No joke. It was 17 degrees and I wasn’t planning on being cold. Needless to say, I ran for less than 10 minutes before I was sweltering. Luckily my buddy and wonderful fiance was willing to carry the jacket for most of the run. After that experience I went to Target and invested in a light but effectively warm running jacket. 😉

We hope to see you at West Stride’s Saturday runs this winter! During those long cold runs you can look forward to a hot cup of Caribou Coffee awaiting you back at West Stride. Here’s to staying warm!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. December 1, 2009 12:30 pm

    Thanks for this posting! I’ve recently started to run again after many years of zero exercise. These tips have helped me out, number 3 was particularly helpful…I’ve overdressed for run many times, I’ll keep tip number 3 in mind from now on. Check out http://www.celebrityangels.co.uk for more tips on how to live a healthy lifestyle and other tips on beauty.

    Enjoy!

    • December 2, 2009 3:32 am

      Thanks AD! We’ll check out the site! Good luck with the training!

Leave a Reply

