Skip to content

New Trends in Strength Training

December 15, 2009
by

Since arriving in South Africa last month, I’ve taken a new approach to exercise. Under normal circumstances I run 2-3 times per week, play tennis 3-5 times per week, and try to squeeze strength training in whenever possible. I found strength training to be quite dull and was satisfied with 45 minutes twice a week at lunchtime.

Here in South Africa, I’ve befriended a colleague who is also a personal trainer. She’s opened my eyes to how strength training can transform not only my body but also my mind – I’m loving it now! The primary reason is because she keeps it fresh. We’ve been doing 4 one-hour strength sessions per week for an hour, 2  for upper body and 2 for lower body. And I haven’t done the same exact exercise once since I got here! I never knew there were so many different ways to work your lats!

Her diverse training philosophy wouldn’t be possible if we were limited to free weights and weight machines. Thanks to several new-fangled accessories, I’ve found myself doing some interesting new moves. This article from Divine Caroline lists and describes several of these accessories, I recommend reading it and giving some a try. My personal favorites are the BOSU and medicine ball – and really, those two in combination. Before I started this new training I was afraid of the BOSU on either of its sides. Now I’m doing goblet squats on the really wobbly side and loving it!

What unique exercise equipment do you incorporate into your fitness routine?

One Comment leave one →
  1. December 15, 2009 5:01 pm

    Hi Nadine,

    I love this article….I have taken a break from my normal work out routine over the past year and am getting edgy to get back into the swing of things. Going for a run is usually an easy exercise routine — good for cardio, weight loss and is super convenient — but I find that when I do strength training at least 3 times per week, my other workouts are so much easier. I use the ball for a lot of my free weight exercises and also have some bands for when I travel. Thanks for the link to the list…I’ll see if there’s something new that I can add to the routine.

    Heather

Leave a comment