Skip to content

GOTR SoleMates Spotlight: Deanna Squires

January 25, 2010
 

Because we had an SUV full of Solemates and we were going to have to take two cars but Deanna agreed to sit in the “way back” seat (as she called it.) She was crammed in the SUV cargo area…we were like a clown car arriving at the race…people just kept getting out!

This is the seventh in our series of GOTR Atlanta SoleMates Spotlights. GOTR SoleMates is a group of men and women training for an event of their choosing while raising money for GOTR Atlanta.

Name:  Deanna Squires

Profession:  MaconPower, Electrical Contractor – Business Development

 Is this your first year as a GOTR SoleMate?  Yes, I hopped on board at the end of 2009, with plans to be more involved in 2010.  

 What made you decide to join GOTR SoleMates?  Friendly persuasion by Stacey Chapman.  Stacey recruited me.  Her enthusiasm and passion for GOTR is contagious. I have a daughter that is nine years old and I’m always looking for ways to help her grow and build her self esteem. After reading stories on the website and talking with Stacey, I felt like this was something I definitely wanted to support. 

 What is your target race?   Nashville Country Music Marathon!  April 24, 2010. I’ve ran several half marathons, but this will be my first full. I’m so excited! 

 What do you like to do when not being active for GOTR SoleMates?   I have three amazing children, Lindsey (20) Amelia (9 ½) Hunter (8) –  I love spending the majority of my time with them. 

 Where is your favorite place to run?   I love to run on the beach, but one of my favorite places to run is the Clemson University Campus.  I’m there on business twice a year and I always take time to run the four mile loop.  There are people everywhere enjoying outdoor activities around the campus, it’s an enjoyable, happy run for me. 

 What advice would you give to a new runner or athlete?  Stretch…stretch…stretch! Before and especially after your run. 

 What is your favorite motto or saying?  “Now if you’re going to win any battle you have to do one thing. You have to make the mind run the body. Never let the body tell the mind what to do. The body will always give up. It is always tired in the morning, noon, and night. But the body is never tired if the mind is not tired.” -George S. Patton, US Army General, 1912 Olympian. I have this posted in several places during my training for the Country Music Marathon, it keeps me motivated.

 What has been your best GOTR SoleMates experience?  That would be the 13.1 Atlanta Inaugural Race this past October. I drove up the night before and stayed at the Chapman B&B aka Stacey and Al’s home. I met a great group of GOTR SoleMates and had a super time completing the race. I was so proud to wear my GOTR running shirt!

 

Deanna is on the left with other SoleMates at the 13.1 Atlanta.

 What would you say to anyone thinking of joining GOTR Solemates? JUST DO IT! There is nothing more important than supporting the girls of our future.  It’s also a great way to set goals and meet some amazing women.

 What is the next race on your schedule?  February 20- The Al Toll 15K Masters in Macon, GA.  The best part about this race is that you have to be 40 or older to register. Here’s to the new 30!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

