Skip to content

JoJo’s Column: Finish Strong

February 11, 2010

JoJo is a GOTR Atlanta SoleMate who has agreed to share her experiences training for the ING Georgia Half-Marathon on the Why We Run blog.  You can read JoJo’s previous posts here and learn a little more about her from her GOTR SoleMate Spotlight feature. We’ll be publishing her guest posts 1-2 times per week leading up to her big event, so please tune in!

Wednesday, Feb. 10, 2010

I hope you had a great week last week; mine could have been better. Although my plans were to run five days, I only ran two. I am hoping for a better week this week. I did run two miles yesterday as every little bit counts. As far as my cross training: tennis, spin class, and aerobics – I am on target!

I have a new strategy for this week – it’s to “finish strong”, the theme for the New Orleans Saints. No I am not a football junkie. I happened to hear about this theme on the radio while driving into work last Friday and thought it would be a good theme for me as I go through this training. My plans for today are to run at least 4 miles and do a spin class…if you have not figured it out by now, I am addicted to spin class.

I don’t know about you but my feet are always very cold when I run outside, and it takes about five minutes for them to warm up.  Here are some great articles about training in cold weather that you may find of interest:

 http://www.active.com/running/Articles/Winter_running__Helping_your_feet_survive.htm

 http://www.active.com/fitness/Articles/Cold_Weather_Training.htm  

Until next time, Live out Loud! Love out Loud! Run!

JoJo

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

