Skip to content

JoJo’s Column: Notes on the Garmin

March 2, 2010

JoJo is a GOTR Atlanta SoleMate who has agreed to share her experiences training for the ING Georgia Half-Marathon on the Why We Run blog.  You can read JoJo’s previous posts here and learn a little more about her from her GOTR SoleMate Spotlight feature. We’ll be publishing her guest posts 1-2 times per week leading up to her big event, so please tune in!

Monday, March 1

I can’t believe we have only three weeks left for training before the big ING full and half-marathon! 

I bought a Garmin 305 Forerunner late last year and I still have not quite figured out how to manage it. 

 I went to a seminar last Saturday for the 405 series, not knowing there was such a difference in the sport watches.  Well needless to say, I did not get any assistance with my 305 as the store does not sell my particular model. 

Then, while at a tennis match, I asked my friend’s husband, a triathlete, about the 305 Forerunner; he stated he had the same watch as I did and he gave me a few pointers.  The watch works great when I am doing an outdoor run: it has a GPS so that I can find my way back to my starting point; it maps out my course; tells me my best pace during my run; records heart rate; and uploads data to my PC. 

However, I wanted to also use the watch indoors when I am cross training.  After countless calls to customer service, I was advised that my particular model was not the best model to use indoors.  They suggested I purchase the 405CX, which can be used indoors and outdoors. Oh well, I am not sure if I am ready to invest over $300 into this gadget. If it truly does “everything,” how can it be so limited?

-JoJo

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

