Skip to content

GOTR Coaches Speak Out: Jessica Sours

March 29, 2010

Today’s Coaches Speak Out series features guest contributor Jessica Sours, Girls on Track coach at Inman Middle in Atlanta. The GOTR Atlanta Spring 2010 season is in its fifth week, and will culminate on May 1 with the GOTR Atlanta 5K.

Hi, my name is Jessica and I coach 8 amazing girls in 6th and 7th grades at Inman Middle School in Virginia Highlands.  This is my second season with Girls On Track and it’s only getting sweeter as the girls get excited to take on their upcoming 5k Race in May and master the Girl out of the Box lifestyle and mindset.  Julie Cessna, CDC employee and pH.D student, Anne Glenn, student at GA State, and Sue Payne, Exec. Director for Atlanta GOTR Council and mom of one our Inman superstars, round out our diverse coaching team.

I believe running can be directly correlated to self-esteem, the most important tool in a young girls life.  I’ve been a runner since I was a high schooler running track and cross country.  Since then, I haven’t run competitively,  although I run many of the Atlanta Track Team races!  I run for myself.   I run because it gives me time with myself, time in the outdoors and a heady sense of accomplishment.  Every time I run, I have an inner battle with my aching muscles or fatigue (even boredom, sometimes!) but I push through to reach my mileage goal or over the next hill or to make the time I’ve set for myself, because I know when I finish, the reward is pure and lasting pride.  I see this pride building in the girls in our program.  They’re meeting their untapped physical strength and endurance for the first time.  And it’s glorious.  “Who knew I was SO STRONG!!!” is written all over their beaming faces.  I feel good sending them out into the world with that.  

I’ll try to share all the silliness, enthusiasm and sheer goodness that the girls impart on me throughout our season.   That’s all for now…”And she turned out the light – and closed the door – and that’s all there is – there isn’t any more” (Ludwig Bemelman’s Madeline)

‘Till next time, of course!

Leave a Reply

