Skip to content

The Tarahumara of Mexico: Those Who Run Fast

May 18, 2010

I was watching the Discovery Channel or TLC or Science Channel or one of those sorts of stations the other night when I caught part of a show on group called the Tarahumara.  Also called the Raramuri, they are an indigenous people in Northern Mexico.  The Tarahumara are world-renowned for their ability to run incredibly long distances, often times barefoot or using huarache sandles made from old tires.  We’re not talking about marathon distances either.  Oh no, we’re talking people who log about a few hundred miles a week!  Because of the isolation of where they are located, running/walking is the primary means of sending and receiving outside communications and basic travel in general.

Tarahumara RunnerI can’t recall the name of the show I was watching and have been trying like crazy to hunt on the TV websites to find it but have had no such luck.  If I do find it, I will update this post. The statistics given on the TV show about the stamina and physique of these people are remarkable, but I won’t try to list them here because I don’t want to mispeak.  Just know they are crazy amazing.  In the meantime, below is a clip from YouTube about a race held each year to celebrate the Tarahumara.  It gives some of the info that I’ve already mentioned, though unfortunately doesn’t go into near as much detail about the physiological aspects of their abilities as the TV show did (dang my forgetful brain for not remembering the name of the show!)  These are truly an inspiring people and they make me feel incredibly lethargic just watching them. 🙂

2 Comments leave one →
  1. April 25, 2011 12:53 pm

    I’m in the middle of reading Born to Run and first learned about the Tarumara there. Incredible! Oh and I absolutely love their clothes. 🙂

  2. August 5, 2012 10:35 pm

    Kelly,
    You must read “Born to Run.” It is an incredible book and really changed my views on running and on life. The Tarahumara are explained in emotional, psychological, and physical regards.

Leave a Reply

