Skip to content

Running Gear & Gadgets

August 24, 2010

In anticipation of the fall race season, I recently stocked up on some new running gear and gadgets. Here are some of my favorites in case you’re in the market…

  • New Balance WR760 running shoes: My new running shoes give me a good amount of support without being too heavy. Big thanks to West Stride for watching my gait on video and fitting me with the perfect shoes. 
  • Asics running cap: I like wearing a hat when I run because it keeps sun, rain, and hair out of my face. With all the heat and sunshine this summer, I’ve definitely needed the shade.
  • iRun Original iPhone app: After I decided to start training for the Atlanta Half Marathon I downloaded a bunch of running iPhone apps. Most of them were way more than I needed or wanted. I don’t want to carry my iPhone with me when I run so I can track my route using GPS. iRun Original makes it easy for me to log my mileage. I can even see how many miles I put on my new running shoes.
  • Now all I need is the perfect sports bar. Unfortunately, according to the New York Times scientists say it doesn’t exist on the market today. Oh well, 3 out of 4 isn’t bad. 🙂

Add a comment if you want to share your favorite running gear or gadget.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Nadine Doyle permalink
    August 24, 2010 9:50 pm

    Tell me more about this app…so you don’t have to carry your iPhone but can log your miles with it?? I’m also looking for an armband carrier for my iPhone that is durable and doesn’t break the bank – any suggestions?

  2. Nikki Santoro permalink
    August 25, 2010 2:40 pm

    Hi Nadine. Yep, you just type in your miles and time after your run. You can also log the type of run, weather, your shoes, and name your routes. It’s pretty simple which is why I like it. I tried a few other running iPhone apps before downloading this one and I’m pretty happy with it because I don’t want to use the GPS and I don’t need the app to tell me what my training program should be. I don’t have any suggestions on a carrier I’m afraid. When I run with my iPhone which is not often I usually just hold it.

Leave a Reply

