Skip to content

GOTR Atlanta SoleMates Spotlight: Sue Payne

September 21, 2010

This is the eleventh in our series of GOTR Atlanta SoleMates Spotlights. GOTR SoleMates is a group of men and women training for an event of their choosing while raising money for GOTR Atlanta.

Marathon Mommas at the GA ING Half-Marathon in 2010

Name: Sue Payne

Profession: Executive Director for Girls on the Run of Atlanta

Is this your first year as a GOTR SoleMate? No, this is my second time running on behalf of GOTR-ATL.  I first participated in the Disney Marathon in 2007 as part of the national GOTR summit.

What made you decide to join GOTR SoleMates? I wanted to run a fall marathon and couldn’t think of a more motivating way to make it through training in the Hot-Atlanta summer!  The Atlanta council has been blessed with a very successful and dedicated group of SoleMate runners whose fundraising efforts have supported 4 full-scholarship teams in the past 2 years.  I wanted to demonstrate my gratitude by joining the ranks.  And, I am a social runner and love the camaraderie spirit of SoleMates!

What is your target race? Bank of America Chicago Marathon! October 10, 2010.  This is the signature SoleMate event, with over 200 SoleMate participants and a national presence (and private porta-johns! :))

What do you like to do when not being active for GOTR SoleMates? My two favorite ‘refueling’ activities involve being outdoors and messy art projects.  Growing up on the beach in Maine, I love anything to do with water if its kayaking, sailing or swimming, I am happy.  I also enjoy having some art project in process, which these days end up being assisting with a school project more than my own painting or sewing.

Where is your favorite place to run? Any place below 85 degrees!  Living in Atlanta, I enjoy running through Piedmont Park in the morning when the skyline is still lit up and the city is still waking up.

What advice would you give to a new runner or athlete? Two things: 1)Keep a journal of not only your goals and progress but also what you ate, drank, hours slept, etc.  This really helps to get in tune with what your body needs and how it responds to different factors.  If  I run 5 miles one day and feel great and then terrible on the same course the next day it helps to know why and not get discouraged.  2)The importance of rest, recovery time is an important part of your training.

What is your favorite motto or saying? A woman is like a tea bag, you never know how strong she is until she gets in hot water.Eleanor Roosevelt

What has been your best GOTR SoleMates experience? Running in my last SoleMate event the miles just slipped by because I kept meeting other SoleMates (at the time they were easy to pick out because we wore pink foam tiaras) and chatting with them along the way.  Girls on the Run always attracts the most amazing group of volunteers.  It was fun and inspiring to hear their stories.

What would you say to anyone thinking of joining GOTR Solemates? Make you Miles Matter! JUST DO IT!  What better way to make a difference in the life of a girl than to be a positive role model.  Our daughters are watching how we approach the world and our challenges; I want my daughter to know I don’t shy away but jump in.  Growing up I was taught to share my blessings.   I was blessed with a very supportive family (my mom is making a road trip to cheer me on in Chicago :)), I want to provide that support to girls who may not have a personal cheering section.

What is the next race on your schedule? The Atlanta Thanksgiving Day Half Marathon (November 2010), Phoenix Rock-n-Roll Half-Marathon (January 2011), Georgia Half-Marathon (March 2011) and depending on how things go in Chicago…hopefully my next full marathon will be Boston in April 2011!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Nadine Doyle permalink
    September 21, 2010 5:12 pm

    Wow Sue, I had no idea you were doing this! Good luck!!!

  2. Nikki Santoro permalink
    September 21, 2010 5:18 pm

    You really are amazing Sue! I’ll be thrilled if I finish 1 half marathon this year. Good luck!

Leave a Reply

