Skip to content

Gaining or Losing: What will 2012 bring?

January 2, 2012

As I was drinking my coffee this morning and savoring the peace and quiet in the house, I flipped on the news and saw a commercial  for Special K about women who were asked to step on a scale in Times Square. Their number was to be broadcast on the big screen for all the world to see. A few outwardly nervous (and brave) women took the challenge and stepped on the scale. Instead of a number, they saw a positive word – clever, drive, confident, satisfaction, etc.  Hence Special K’s tagline, “What will you GAIN when you lose™?”

I was immediately taken in by this campaign, went to their website to read their marketing spiel (I’m a sucker for beautiful copy), but then kept on reading (it’s a miracle that everyone is still asleep in my house) about Special K and the “Mommy Bloggers” who were invited to be a part of the 2011 event.  I missed this campaign last year so it’s a good thing that Special K decided to capitalize on it again and re-run their spots on this day dubbed “national weigh in day.”

As I kept reading about Special K and their two-week diet plans, I was intrigued by the positive outlook folks have for their weight loss plans for the year. (“Our goal for 2012 is not just to lose weight, but also to change our lifestyle so that we can set a good example for Charlie.” ~ The Shopping Mama)…and equally intrigued by the naysayers who couldn’t be bothered by a superficial marketing campaign based on high-fructose corn syrup cereal. (“In campaigns that promote diets like this, thinness is equated with success, beauty, and happiness.  In reality, treating your body this way is abusive and dangerous.” ~I Came to Run)

And now I hear the familiar sounds of the children clambering down the stairs so I’m off to make breakfast and then to the park for our last day of vacation together. But I’ll be thinking about Special K’s campaign and using inspiring words, instead of numbers, to measure what appears on my scale. I’m gravitating toward “fantabulous.” What about you?

RESPECT

GLOW

JOY

CONFIDENCE

SPARKLE

SASS

EXCITEMENT

GUTS

SATISFACTION

HOPE

SPIRIT

MOXIE

DRIVE

SHINE

PEACE

PEP

RESOLVE

GLEE

PRIDE

NERVE

CALM

OOMPH

DRIVE

ZING

SASS

FANTABULOUS

MOMENTUM

 

Happy New Year!

~Girls on the Run of Atlanta

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

