Skip to content

Why I run… now

March 16, 2012

Guest Blogger Yasamine Christopherson, Girls on the Run of Atlanta Board Member, former SoleMate and runner

Sports have always been an important part of my life. Running, however, has been an evolving activity for me. I grew up playing tennis and continued playing tennis in college. Running was a part of training, it was the thing we did at the end of practice when we were already tired. Playing tennis gave me confidence, a sense of determination, and an outlet for competition. But after college tennis ended, I needed a new way to stay healthy and relieve stress. One of my friends suggested we start running–for fun. The thought was a bit foreign to me (running was always the tough end of practice activity); however, I was willing to give it a shot. In the hot summer I began running–and have grown to love it. At first, I started running to stay fit and relieve stress (I’m a lawyer). I then learned that running was not just a good way to stay healthy and relieve stress, it was also a good way to see different places and catch-up with friends.

This past weekend I finished my last long training run for the Publix Half Marathon. For the past several months I’ve been training to run 13.1 miles. Starting with my regular 3 mile runs, I began building-up gradually. I’m looking forward to the sense of accomplishment from crossing the finish line next weekend. That sense of accomplishment only comes from the hard work in the form of long runs, which serves as a reminder that sometimes the tough times are what produce the good. As I finish this journey, I’m curious as to how running has evolved in other peoples lives?

Yasamine on a training run in Dublin in January

2 Comments leave one →
  1. jlaiti permalink
    March 16, 2012 1:46 pm

    Go Yasamine! Hope you have a great run!

Trackbacks

  1. My Half Marathon Top Ten List « Why We Run

Leave a Reply

