Skip to content

5k Training: 3 Weeks to Go

April 2, 2012

Guest Blogger Drew Slone, Girls on the Run of Atlanta Board Member and Fitness Instructor

Congratulations—you’ve made it through one week of your 5k training program.  Perhaps you have used this time to connect with your daughter and talk about her experiences with Girls on the Run, or maybe you’ve used it as just time for yourself.  Whatever your motivation, we hope that the last week has been as exciting as it was challenging, and that you’ve seen some positive changes as you’ve started to get moving!

Here are your workouts for this week:

Week 2:

Monday: Rest Day

Tuesday: Run/Walk at an easy pace for 20-30 minutes

Wednesday: Rest Day

Thursday: Run/Walk at an easy pace for 20-30 minutes

Friday: Run/Walk at an easy pace for 20-30 minutes

Saturday: Run/Walk at an easy pace for 30-40 minutes

We’ve increased your run/walk time in each of this week’s workouts.  As you’ve gotten the hang of doing a set time for running and walking, try to shift your focus to maintaining a consistent pace for each of your runs.  My favorite method for this is putting together a playlist of similarly paced songs on my iPod.  I know that if I’m listening to my favorite Dave Matthews Band song, my pace will be more relaxed than if I turn on the heavy rock music I use when I lift weights.  In fact, my runs have always been my favorite time to try out a new playlist.  It’s my way to treat myself for keeping up with my training schedule.

 

They say it takes 21 days to make something a habit.  After this week, you’ll be 2/3 of the way to making running a habit.  So what are you waiting for?  Treat yourself to some new tunes and get outside and run!  The road is waiting…

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

