Skip to content

Stellar Coaches Spotlight

November 30, 2012

The Girls on the Run program would not be possible without our amazing volunteer coaches. They are the heart and soul of our program, the ones in the field implementing the program and the curriculum.  Thank you coaches!

Meet two of them now!

Coach Kat

Seasons with GOTR: 3

Why did you become a GOTR coach? “I first learned about Girls on the Run online and wanted to know more about it. Then, at a St. Patrick’s Day 5k/10K in Atlanta I visited GOTR’s expo booth before the race and got information there. I volunteered with GOTR first, then started coaching.”

What are some of your favorite moments from your GOTR coaching career? “Reading the emails the girls’ parents send after the program. Also, I coached a girl named Kathryn, and during the celebration she shared that she used to hate running but now she and her mom run together and love it.”

What have you learned from the girls/GOTR? “SBLR. Also, through the lessons I was reminded about the issues girls deal with, such as gossip, and how important it is to address these issues.”

Coach Janelle

Seasons with GOTR: 3

Why did you become a GOTR coach? “I learned about it from Taylor on 104.7 The Fish. I wanted to be a coach for my older daughter, Trinity, but she was too old. Another mom started coaching in spring 2011, and I started in the fall with my younger daughter, Rilyn. Trinity has done two of the GOTR 5K races, though.”

What are some of your favorite moments from your GOTR coaching career? “When the girls discuss what they believe is bullying and hurtful, and when I can witness the positive messages register during lessons.”

What have you learned from the girls/GOTR? “I need to think before I speak; I need to apply the lessons I teach my daughter and other GOTR girls to my life.”

THANK YOU to our coaches for being positive role models to the Girls on the Run girls. If you would like to become a coach, click here to learn more or attend one of our upcoming info meetings. We are looking for coaches for our upcoming spring programs. Coach trainings are in January and the spring program kicks off in February with the end-of-season 5K in late April. 

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

